6th Annual Motor State Challenge... Three Days Of Serious Car Fun!

Cruise, Road Course and Autocross

Winner Bill Utley 2014 Motor State Challenge Winner Todd Rumpke Winner Bret Voelkel Winner Ryan Matthews

Challenge Was A Big Success!

Judging by the great time everyone was having, the Motor State Challenge was a big success! The weather couldn't have been better.

A big Thank You to all of the participants, employees and friends that helped make the 6th Annual Event one of the best!

A nice group of cars and drivers showed up on Thursday. After the drivers' meeting, the group cruised through the countryside, ending up at Riverfront Park in Niles, MI. There was a Car Show, Cookout, and Concert-in-the-Park Thursday evening! Friday had a great turnout at GingerMan Raceway Road Course in South Haven, for a full day of track action! Saturday an Autocross event was held at The Tire Rack in South Bend, IN. Awards were given out after the Autocross.

flickr  2014 MS Challenge Pics - 798 photos by car number!

Photos Of All Three Days Are Posted!

2014 Motor State Challenge Results

Vintage Class

Champion: Billy Utley - 1972 Chevrolet Nova
2nd Place: Larry Woo - 1968 Chevrolet Camaro
3rd Place: Randy Johnson - 1973 Chevrolet Camaro

Late Model Class

Champion: Todd Rumpke - 2006 Chevrolet Corvette
2nd Place: Zack Rogers - 1994 Ford Mustang
3rd Place: James Fehring - 2000 Pontiac Trans Am

Manufacturers Vintage Class

Champion: Bret Voelkel (Ridetech)
2nd Place: Mark Stielow (Detroit Speed)
3rd Place: Kyle Tucker (Detroit Speed)

Manufacturers Late Model Class

Champion: Ryan Matthews (Detroit Speed)
2nd Place: John Fehring (Hoosier Performance Engineering)

Congratulations to All!

Optima Ultimate Street Car Invitational Invite and
Spirit of the Event Winner

Michael Werner - 2008 Mercedes CLK63 BS

Michael will now be headed to the USCA event at Michigan International Speedway to secure his spot in this year's Optima Search for the Ultimate Street Car Invitational in Las Vegas, Nevada November 8-9.

Additional Motor State Challenge Awards

Todd Gartshore Memorial Award: Scott Romszewicz #87 - 1987 Oldsmobile Cutlass
People's Choice Award: Curt Shoemaker - Chevy C10 Pickup
Long Distance Award: Grant Reierson #13 - 1966 Chevrolet Chevy II

Fastest Lap Awards
GingerMan Vintage:
Billy Utley - 1:43.97
GingerMan Late Model: Todd Rumpke - 1:39.58
GingerMan Mfg. Vintage: Mark Stielow - 1:43.36 (Detroit Speed) 1966 Mustang
GingerMan Mfg. Late Model: Ryan Matthews - 1:40.22 (Detroit Speed) 2012 Camaro
Autocross Vintage: Larry Woo - 40.818
Autocross Late Model: Todd Rumpke - 40.823
Autocross Mfg. Vintage: Kyle Tucker - 39.960 (Detroit Speed) 1966 Mustang
Autocross Mfg. Late Model: John Fehring - 40.283 (Hoosier Performance Engineering) 2000 Trans Am

Results PDF's

Complete GingerMan Results (106KB PDF)

Complete Autocross Results (90KB PDF)


Worldwide Distributor